Honors & Awards


Members of the American Philosophical Society

Six Physical Sciences faculty members have been elected to the American Philosophical Society (APS). The APS is America's first learned society, founded by Benjamin Franklins in 1743. The APS elects members who are truly top scholars in their fields to honor extraordinary academic accomplishments.

Andrea Ghez, 2012

Andrea Ghez graduated with a B.S. in physics from MIT in 1987 and a PhD in physics from Caltech in 1992. Ghez currently uses and develops high spatial resolution imaging techniques to study star formation and the massive black hole at the center of our galaxy. Ghez also developed the "speckle imaging" technique. Among many awards and honors, Ghez has been elected to the American Philosophical Society and is the recipient of the Crafoord Prize, a MacArthur Fellowship, the Sackler Prize, and three UCLA Department Teaching Awards. Ghez currently holds the Lauren Leichtman and Arthur Levine Chair in Astrophysics at UCLA.

Faculty Webpage

Terence Tao, 2012

Terence Tao, a math prodigy from Adelaide, Australia, began taking calculus as a seven year old. He earned his Ph.D. from Princeton and joined UCLA's faculty at the age of 20. By 24, Tao had become a full professor. He is renowned for his research on harmonic analysis, partial differential equations, combinatorics and analytic number theory. He is also the world's expert on the Kakeya conjecture. Tao has been honored with many prestigious awards and honors, including the Crafoord Prize, the Fields Medal, and the King Faisal International Prize. He currently holds the James and Carol Collins Chair in Mathematics at UCLA.

Faculty Webpage

Margaret Kivelson, 2005 

Margaret Kivelson received her Ph.D. from Harvard University. Kivelson worked in plasma physics at RAND prior to joining UCLA in 1967. Her research interests include magnetospheric plasma physics of Earth, Jupiter, and Saturn; interaction of flowing plasmas with planets and moons; and ultra-low frequency waves. Kivelson has had a great impact on the study of magnetic fields, worked to analyze data from two Pioneer spacecraft missions, and was the first to propose building the magnetometer for Galileo. Kivelson is currently Professor Emerita in the Department of Earth and Space Sciences.

Faculty Webpage

David Eisenberg, 2003

David Eisenberg earned an A.B. in biochemical sciences from Harvard College and a D.Phil from Oxfrd University in theorhetical chemistry on a Rhodes Scholarship. After postdoctoral study at Princeton University, he joined UCLA's faculty as a Professor of chemistry and biochemistry and biological chemistry. Eisenberd is currently HHMI Investigator and Director of the UCLA DOE Institute for Genomics and Proteomics. He studies protein interactions by x-ray crystallography, bioinformatics, and biochemistry, with an emphais on amyloid-forming proteins. Eisenberg has published over 300 papers and revies and hold half a dozen patents. Eisenberg's honors include the UCLA Distinguished Teaching Award, a John Simon Guggenheim Fellowhip, an ACS Faculty Mentoring Award, and the Stein and Moore Award of the Protein Society.

Faculty Webpage

J. William Schopf, 1985

J. William "Bill" Schnopf earned his A.B. in Geology from Oberlin College, and his A.M. and Ph.D. from Harvard. Schopf is an expert in Paleobiology, Astrobiology, and Organic Geochemistry. Schopf uses cutting-edge confocal laser scanning microscopy and Ramen spectroscopy to study the cellular anatomy and chemistry of fossils, including some of the oldest known Precambrian microscopic fossils. Schopf is also working to develop a low-teperature "geochemical thermometer" for use in both paleobiology and in petroleum exploration. Schopf's many awards include a UCLA Distinguished Teaching Award, the A.T. Waterman Medal, and the M.C. Thompson Medal. Schopf has also been a Guggenheim Fellow, and is a member of the American Philosophical Scoiety and the Linnean Society of London.

Faculty Webpage

 Paul Boyer, 1998

Paul Boyer received his B.S. in chemistry from Brigham Young University and his PHD in biochemistry from the University of Wisconsin. Boyer researched at Stanford, taught at the University of Minnesota, and received a Guggenheim Fellowship before joining UCLA's Chemsitry & Biochemistry faculty in 1963. Now Professor Emeritus, Boyer has had a long and successful career at UCLA. His many achievements include serving as the founding director of UCLA's Molecular Biology Institute and winning the Nobel Prize for chemistry in 1997.

Faculty Webpage