Honors & Awards

MacArthur Fellows

Three scientists from UCLA's Division of Physical Sciences have been recognized as MacArthur Fellows for showing exceptional merit and promise of continued creative work: Andrea Ghez, Terence Tao, and Richard Turco. MacArthur Fellows receive an unrestricted award of $500,000 distributed over five years to encourage their creativity and potential to make important contributions in the future.


Andrea Ghez, 2008

Andrea Ghez graduated with a B.S. in physics from MIT in 1987 and a PhD in physics from Caltech in 1992. Ghez currently uses and develops high spatial resolution imaging techniques to study star formation and investigate the massive black hole at the center of our galaxy. Ghez also developed the "speckle imaging" technique. Among many awards and honors, Ghez has been awarded the Crafoord Prize for Astronomy and was elected to the American Philosophical Society.

Faculty Webpage     MacArthur Fellowship Press Release  


Terence Tao, 2006

Terence Tao, a math prodigy from Adelaide, Australia, began taking calculus as a seven-year-old. He earned his PhD from Princeton and joined UCLA's faculty at the age of 20. By 24, Tao had become a full professor. He is renowned for his research on harmonic analysis, partial differential equations, combinatorics and analytic number theory. He is also the world's expert on the Kakeya conjecture. Tao has been recognized with many other distinguished honors, including the Fields Medal, the Crafoord Prize for mathematics, and an election to the American Philosophical Society. He currently holds the James and Carol Collins Chair in mathematics at UCLA.

Faculty Webpage     MacArthur Fellowship Press Release


Richard Turco, 1986

Richard Turco earned a B.S. from Rutgers University in electrical engineering and an M.S. and Ph.D. from the University of Illinois in electrical engineering and physics. Prior to joining UCLA's Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences faculty in 1988, Turco served as a research scientist at R & D Associates. His research has focused on nuclear winter, the photochemistry of ozone, and threats to the stratospheric ozone, including chlorofluorocarbons and rocket exhaust. His awards and honors include NASA's H. Julian Allen Award for outstanding research, the American Physical Society's Leo Szilard Prize, and the UCLA Distinguished Faculty Research Lectureship. Turco is the founding member of UCLA's Institute of the Environment and Sustainability (IoES) and a member of the Institute for Geophysics and Planetary Physics.

Faculty Webpage     IoES Website